Charity support – my passion!

18 Jun

Hello again

This week I thought I would share my passion for charity fundraising with you.  I would imagine that generally pest controllers would not be associated with charity fundraising as pest controllers in general don’t have a particular ‘fluffy’ and perhaps caring image so I thought I would dispel a few myths!

The charity that I actively raise funds for is Wymondham Star Throwers.  It  is a not-for-profit, registered charity run entirely by passionate volunteers, dedicated to supporting and advising people in East Anglia who are affected by cancer, or are at particular risk of developing cancer.  It was started by Dr Henry Mannings to provide help to cancer sufferers who felt they have nowhere else to go or required advice on further management.

My latest exploit has been a very gentle darts competition and I am so determined to reach my goals, not only in business, but in charity too by a very much more strenuous rowing the channel across and back again, or its equivalent, even if the pain becomes almost too much to stand; such is my passion!

So, maybe the image of pest controllers should be reviewed; we don’t all have our trousers tied with string at the bottom and carry a ferret, neither do we walk about looking like something out of Ghostbusters (well, not all of the time anyway).  We care about our environment passionately (that word again) and pest control is all about protection, nurture and care – just the same as in charity support.

One Response to “Charity support – my passion!”

  1. Jill Watkinson June 18, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    Well done Jon – I am sure your passion for Star Throwers is much appreciated by all the staff and clients.

    Jill

Leave a Reply

