How my little girl melted my heart…

24 Jun

Hello again

This week I’m sharing a really personal experience that happened just last weekend.  We have two young children and we are always showing them how things grow and why they grow – currently we have a fabulous crop of potatoes which are perfect just steamed and served with a little butter and sea salt.

Out of the blue, my 7-year old daughter asked if she could sell some at the gate, so she set up a table, wrote a sign, bagged up the potatoes and priced them at 50p a bag and then sat on a little stool in front of the house just waiting for passers-by.  There she remained for an hour and a half and sold 8 bags.  Initially, my little entrepreneur wanted to keep the money herself but she changed her mind.  She has heard me speak many times about Wymondham Star Throwers, a cancer support charity, that I actively fund-raise for continually and decided that she wanted to give the money to the charity instead.  I had to hold back my tears.  My young daughter is not only a budding entrepreneur, but she already understands the meaning of charity too….she melted my heart.

 

Leave a Reply

